Miss Eliza's English kitchen : a novel of Victorian cookery and friendship
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2022.
Format
Large Print
Edition
Large print edition.
ISBN
9781432896065, 1432896067
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Adams Free Library - GeneralFIC ABBS A LPAvailable
Marlborough Public Library - Large PrintLP ABBAvailable
Upton Town Library - GeneralLP AbbsAvailable

More Details

Published
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2022.
Edition
Large print edition.
Physical Desc
515 pages (large print) ; 22 cm.
Language
English
ISBN
9781432896065, 1432896067

Notes

General Note
Includes P.S. insights, interviews & more section with note from the author, historical notes, notes on the characters, poem sources, recommended reading, recipes, reading group guide, and about the author (pages 477-514).
Description
"In a novel perfect for fans of Hazel Gaynor's A Memory of Violets and upstairs-downstairs stories, Annabel Abbs, the award-winning author of The Joyce Girl, returns with the brilliant real-life story of Eliza Acton and her assistant as they revolutionized British cooking and cookbooks around the world. Before Mrs. Beeton and well before Julia Child, there was Eliza Acton, who changed the course of cookery writing forever. England, 1835. London is awash with thrilling new ingredients, from rare spices to exotic fruits. But no one knows how to use them. When Eliza Acton is told by her publisher to write a cookery book instead of the poetry she loves, she refuses - until her bankrupt father is forced to flee the country. As a woman, Eliza has few options. Although she's never set foot in a kitchen, she begins collecting recipes and teaching herself to cook. Much to her surprise she discovers a talent - and a passion - for the culinary arts. Eliza hires young, destitute Ann Kirby to assist her. As they cook together, Ann learns about poetry, love and ambition. The two develop a radical friendship, breaking the boundaries of class while creating new ways of writing recipes. But when Ann discovers a secret in Eliza's past, and finds a voice of her own, their friendship starts to fray. Based on the true story of the first modern cookery writer, Miss Eliza's English Kitchen is a spellbinding novel about female friendship, the struggle for independence, and the transcendent pleasures and solace of food."--,Provided by publisher.

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

NoveList

Staff View

Loading Staff View.